Summer Whitten Chairs Hard at Work on Scholarship


OXFORD, Miss.–Dean Deborah Bell awarded summer Whitten Chair appointments to several law faculty this summer to support their scholarly research. The new summer Whitten Chair appointees are professors Will Berry, David Case, John Czarnetzky, Chris Green, Farish Percy, Larry Pittman, and Lisa Roy.

“I was very pleased to be able to appoint these distinguished professors to the Whitten Chair for the summer semester,” said Dean Bell. “Their scholarship is very important to the profession, the state, and the nation—as well as our students.”

The Jamie Lloyd Whitten Chair of Law and Government was first established in 1986 to honor Jamie Lloyd Whitten, who served as congressman from Mississippi’s First Congressional District for over fifty years. The purpose of the Whitten Chair is to ensure the highest quality learning enviroment for Ole Miss law students. The Chair promotes retention and recruitment of distinguished faculty—practitioners, judges, public officials, and legal scholars—to instruct and mentor students.

The seven summer Whitten Chairs join the current distinguished chair-holders—Professor Michael Hoffheimer and Professor Ronald Rychlak. Previous appointees to the Whitten Chair include Dean Emeritus Sam Davis, former governor William Winter, Dean Emeritus Parham Williams, and former Mississippi Supreme Court Justice Reuben Anderson.

“Our new Whitten Chairs are hard at work on exciting research projects and are very grateful for the support they have received,” noted Senior Associate Dean Jack Wade Nowlin. “As professional educators, we know our research inspires classroom teaching and provides a broader service to the profession and our communities. Our faculty are doing important research in so many areas—constitutional law, civil procedure, criminal law, environmental law, religious liberties, bankruptcy, and more.”

Summer Whitten Chair recipients echoed these sentiments. “It’s wonderful to help honor Jamie Lloyd Whitten by working on my research projects this summer,” said Professor Chris Green, an expert in federal and state constitutional law. “Thinking about the law is the lifeblood of our institution, and it is critical for the education of our students that our professors open new frontiers of analysis and research during their summers.”

Professor David Case, an environmental law specialist and Ole Miss alumnus, also expressed his appreciation. “I’m extremely gratified to have received a summer appointment to the Whitten Chair and support for my summer research project, a law review article on an important water rights case currently pending in the United States Supreme Court–Mississippi v. Tennessee.”

Professor Larry Pittman, an accomplished scholar and Law School alumnus, is drawing on his Whitten Chair support to work on a new study of the Thirteenth Amendment. “Being a recipient of a Whitten Chair appointment is an honor that I greatly appreciate,” Professor Pittman said, “and one that shows the Law School’s commitment to research.”

Professor John Czarnetzky, a bankruptcy expert who recently received the University-wide teacher of the year award, agrees and summed up his colleagues’ feelings: “The support our faculty receives from endowed chairs, professorships, and lectureships empowers us to expand the horizons of legal knowledge and do our best work in the classroom for our students. Jamie Lloyd Whitten has left a great legacy for the Law School and for generations of future students.”

Read more about the Law School’s summer Whitten Chairs here: Will Berry, David Case, John Czarnetzky, Chris Green, Farish Percy, Larry Pittman, Lisa Roy.